2017 Award Winners

Claremont Graduate University is pleased to announce the winners for the $100,000 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award and the $10,000 Kate Tufts Discovery Award.

Kingsley Tufts Award Winner
Vievee Francis Forest Primeval
Kate Tufts Discovery Award Winner
Philip B. Williams, Thief in the Interior

Vievee Francis is the author of Forest Primeval (Northwestern University Press, 2016); Horse in the Dark, (Northwestern University Press, 2012), which won the Cave Canem Northwestern University Poetry Prize for a second collection; and Blue-Tail Fly (Wayne State University, 2006). Her work has appeared in numerous print and online journals, textbooks, and anthologies, including Best American Poetry (2010 & 2014) and Angles of Ascent: A Norton Anthology of Contemporary African American Poetry. In 2009 she received a Rona Jaffe Writer’s Award, and most recently the 2016 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award. She serves as an Associate Editor of Callaloo and an associate professor of English in creative writing at Dartmouth College.

Phillip B. Williams is the author of Thief in the Interior, a finalist for an NAACP Image Award. He received a 2013 Ruth Lilly Fellowship and is the co-editor in chief of the online journal Vinyl. He is currently visiting professor in English at Bennington College.

2017 Kingsley Tufts Finalists

Tyehimba Jess, Olio (Wave Books). Jess is Poetry and Fiction Editor of African American Review and Associate Professor of English at College of Staten Island.

Ada Limón, Bright Dead Things (Milkweed). Limón is the author of four books of poetry, including Lucky Wreck, This Big Fake World, and Sharks in the Rivers.

Jamaal May, The Big Book of Exit Strategies (Alice James Books). May is the author of Hum, winner of the Beatrice Hawley Award, and the American Library Association’s Notable Book Award. With Tarfia Faizullah, he co-directs OW! Arts.

Patrick Rosal, Brooklyn Antediluvian (Persea Books). Rosal is the author of four full-length collections of poetry. He is currently an Associate Professor at the MFA Program of Rutgers University-Camden.

2017 Kate Tufts Finalists

Derrick Austin, Trouble the Water (BOA Editions). Austin is the Ron Wallace Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing.

Rickey Laurentiis, Boy with Thorn (University of Pittsburgh Press). Laurentiis has won the 2014 Cave Canem Poetry Prize and the 2016 Levis Reading Prize. Raised in New Orleans, he now lives in Brooklyn.

Jordan Rice, Constellarium (Orison Books). Rice is editor of the forthcoming anthology Voices of Transgender Parents and is an Executive Section Editor for Dublin Poetry Review.

Ocean Vuong, Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Copper Canyon). A Ruth Lilly fellow from the Poetry Foundation, Vuong has received honors from the Lannan Foundation, the Civitella Ranieri Foundation, The Elizabeth George Foundation, and The Academy of American Poets.