About the award

The winner of the Foothill Editors’ Prize is awarded with $100 and recognition in Foothill as an undeniable force in graduate student verse. Each year, three finalists are selected by the Foothill editorial board. These selections are then passed along to a prominent poet, who makes the final decision. Ishion Hutchinson will judge the 2019 award.

Publication in Foothill‘s forthcoming issue automatically qualifies poets for consideration.

2018 Foothill Editors’ Prize Winner

Mia S. Willis for “hecatomb.”

Mia S Willis Winner of the 2018 Foothill Edi

Praise for “hecatomb.”:

“‘hecatomb.’ stands out among the editors’ excellent selections for many brilliances: its rangy allusions, its language and specificity, its devastating progressions, its carefully timed repetitions and variations, its insistent awareness of climate and culture. Reading this poem becomes an impressive, immersive experience, and it’s an experience I definitely want others to have. I’m in awe of so much of what the author accomplishes through this poem—I can’t wait to read more of their work.”

—Genevieve Kaplan, 2018 Judge

2018 Foothill Editors’ Prize Finalists

Reilly D. Cox for “Even as Rubble, My Brother”
Inez Tan for “I Am Trying to Care about You as a Person but You Keep Turning Me into a Bear”