CGU Concerts

Friday, December 10, 2021, 4:15 pm
Art & Music Building
251 E. 10th Street, Claremont, CA 91711

Robert Zappulla

Zoom Link

Download printed program


“Mr Couperin”

[Suite in G minor]

Prélude [3]
Allemande [93]
Courante [94]
Sarabande [95]
Chaconne ou Passacaille [96]
Passacaille [98]

[Suite in F major]

Prélude [13]
Allemande grave [67]
Courante [69]
Courante [70]
Sarabande [72]
Chaconne [80]


[Suite in C major]

Prélude [10]
Allemande [15]
Courante [18]
Courante [19]
Sarabande [22]
Chaconne [26]
Passacaille [27]

Authorship of these pieces traditionally has been attributed to Louis Couperin (ca. 1626-1661), but recent research—specifically, that of harpsichordist and conductor Glen Wilson—has cast serious doubt on that attribution. It seems much more likely that they were composed by Louis’ brother, Charles Couperin (1638-1679), father of François Couperin (le Grand; 1668-1733).

Numbers in brackets refer to the pieces as ordered in the l’Oiseau-Lyre edition (Monaco, 2004) by Davitt Moroney.

The harpsichord, based on a Flemish instrument constructed in 1640 by Johannes Ruckers, was built by Robert Greenberg in Berkeley, California in 1980. Its range is GG/BB-d”’ (short octave), and it is disposed 2×8′, 1×4′, buff. It has been tuned in quarter-comma meantone temperament, using A415 as a basis, for this performance.

This concert is dedicated to the memory of my father, Elio Zappulla (March 5, 1933-November 5, 2021).

Next CGU Concert:

Works by C.P.E. Bach and J.S. Bach
Syrina Robinson, flute

Monday, December 13, 2021, 11:00 a.m.
Via ZOOM only:

Please silence cell phones.